Story details

Saudi Arabia’s Principal Buyer, the Saudi Power Procurement Company, signed four service agreements on August 20, 2026, for the first group of battery energy storage system projects. The Saudi Press Agency reported a combined power capacity of 2,000 MW, a four-hour storage duration for each project and total investment of more than SAR 4.35 billion. Those figures describe the plans covered by the agreements. The report does not say the projects have been completed, entered commercial operation or are already supplying that amount of power to the grid. It says the facilities will be developed under a build-own-operate model.

The four sites are Muwayh and Haden in Makkah region, Al-Kahfah in Hail region and Al-Khashibi in Qassim region. Each project is specified at 500 MW with a four-hour storage duration. The first three agreements went to a consortium of Saudi Energy, ACWA Power and Al Sharif; the fourth was signed with a consortium of ENGIE and Al Haj Abdullah Ali Reza & Partners. The announcement therefore describes four separate projects and developer groups. It does not publish a construction start, grid-connection date or commissioning schedule for any of the sites.

MW measures power capacity, while four hours is the storage duration stated in the announcement. Multiplying the project figures could produce a derived energy total, but SPA does not state that result as an aggregate, so this report does not present an unreported MWh total. The investment wording also matters: “more than SAR 4.35 billion” is a lower threshold, not an exact project cost. The SPA report gives no detail on how costs will be finalized at financial close. The figure should therefore not be described as a precise contract price or as spending already completed.

The four projects are identified as the first battery-storage group supervised by Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Energy. SPA says they form part of the energy sector’s effort to strengthen the reliability and efficiency of electricity generation. The report presents improved grid reliability and generation flexibility as intended benefits. Signing agreements alone, however, does not show that storage capacity has entered operation, that outages have fallen or that electricity prices have changed. Those outcomes would require later construction and operating data, which the announcement does not provide.

The report describes the Principal Buyer as responsible for preliminary studies and procurement of power-generation and storage projects, and for signing power-purchase or storage-service agreements with developers. The announced contracts set out a model for developing and operating the sites, but SPA does not disclose every technical and financial term in the agreements. This account is limited to the capacity, locations and consortia stated in the August 20 release. Without later disclosures, no conclusion can be drawn about construction progress, commissioning dates, actual storage performance or realized investment.