{"version":"1","article":{"id":"saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","slug":"saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","language":"en","url":"https://haberpaper.com/en/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=en","title":"Saudi Arabia signs service agreements for four battery-storage projects","summary":"The first four projects are planned for 2,000 MW of power capacity and four-hour storage; investment was put above SAR 4.35 billion, with no report that the facilities are operating.","category":"energy","region":"world","topics":[],"published_at":"2026-10-08T23:31:12+03:00","modified_at":"2026-10-08T23:31:12+03:00","publication_basis":"publication-record","event_period":"2026-08-20","event_period_basis":"event-or-reference-period","sources":[{"name":"Saudi Press Agency (SPA)","url":"https://www.spa.gov.sa/fa/N2658732","checkedAt":"2026-10-08","publishedAt":"2026-08-20"}],"translations":[{"language":"tr","url":"https://haberpaper.com/tr/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=tr"},{"language":"en","url":"https://haberpaper.com/en/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=en"},{"language":"ar","url":"https://haberpaper.com/ar/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=ar"},{"language":"fr","url":"https://haberpaper.com/fr/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=fr"},{"language":"es","url":"https://haberpaper.com/es/news/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026?lang=es"}],"data_types":["metrics"],"data":{"version":1,"blocks":[{"id":"first-group-bess-agreements","type":"metrics","title":{"tr":"İlk grup batarya depolama anlaşmalarının kapsamı","en":"Scope of the first battery-storage agreements","ar":"نطاق اتفاقيات المجموعة الأولى لتخزين البطاريات","fr":"Portée des premiers accords de stockage par batteries","es":"Alcance de los primeros acuerdos de almacenamiento con baterías"},"description":{"tr":"Kaynak, dört proje için toplam güç kapasitesi ile yatırım eşiğini açıklıyor; tesislerin çalışır durumda olduğunu bildirmiyor.","en":"The source reports total power capacity and an investment threshold for four projects; it does not say the facilities are operating.","ar":"يذكر المصدر القدرة الإجمالية وحداً أدنى للاستثمار لأربعة مشاريع؛ ولا يقول إن المنشآت تعمل.","fr":"La source indique la puissance totale et un seuil d’investissement pour quatre projets ; elle ne dit pas que les installations fonctionnent.","es":"La fuente informa de la potencia total y un umbral de inversión para cuatro proyectos; no afirma que las instalaciones estén operativas."},"methodology":{"tr":"Güç, SPA'nın anlaşmalar için bildirdiği 2.000 MW toplamıdır. Depolama süresi proje başına dört saattir ve burada toplam MWh türetilmemiştir. Yatırım değeri yalnızca 4,35 milyar SAR üst sınır eşiği olarak verildiğinden sayısal değer null bırakılmıştır.","en":"Power is the 2,000 MW total SPA reports for the agreements. Storage duration is four hours per project; no aggregate MWh is derived here. The investment is reported only as exceeding SAR 4.35 billion, so its numeric value is null.","ar":"القدرة هي إجمالي 2000 ميجاواط الذي أوردته الوكالة للاتفاقيات. ومدة التخزين أربع ساعات لكل مشروع، من دون اشتقاق إجمالي للمجاواط ساعة. ورد الاستثمار على أنه يتجاوز 4.35 مليار ريال، لذلك تُركت قيمته الرقمية null.","fr":"La puissance est le total de 2 000 MW indiqué par SPA. La durée est de quatre heures par projet ; aucun total en MWh n’est dérivé. L’investissement étant seulement annoncé comme supérieur à 4,35 milliards de SAR, sa valeur numérique est null.","es":"La potencia es el total de 2.000 MW informado por SPA. La duración es de cuatro horas por proyecto; no se deriva un total en MWh. Como la inversión solo se expresa como superior a SAR 4.350 millones, su valor numérico es null."},"sourceUrls":["https://www.spa.gov.sa/fa/N2658732"],"updatedAt":"2026-10-08T20:24:20+00:00","items":[{"label":{"tr":"Dört proje için toplam planlanan güç kapasitesi","en":"Combined planned power capacity for four projects","ar":"إجمالي القدرة المخططة للمشاريع الأربعة","fr":"Puissance prévue cumulée des quatre projets","es":"Potencia prevista conjunta de los cuatro proyectos"},"value":2000,"unit":"MW","period":"2026-08-20","basis":"target","measure":{"id":"bess-agreement-power-capacity","unitCode":"mw","geography":"saudi-arabia","frequency":"irregular","aggregation":"unspecified","periodRole":"announcement-date"}},{"label":{"tr":"Kaynakta bildirilen yatırım eşiği: 4,35 milyar SAR’ın üzerinde","en":"Investment threshold reported by source: more than SAR 4.35 billion","ar":"حد الاستثمار الوارد في المصدر: أكثر من 4.35 مليار ريال","fr":"Seuil indiqué par la source : plus de 4,35 milliards de SAR","es":"Umbral indicado por la fuente: más de SAR 4.350 millones"},"value":null,"unit":"billion SAR","period":"2026-08-20","basis":"estimate","measure":{"id":"bess-investment-threshold","unitCode":"billion-sar","geography":"saudi-arabia","frequency":"irregular","aggregation":"unspecified","periodRole":"announcement-date"}}]}]},"data_compilations":[{"id":"first-group-bess-agreements","creator":{"@type":"Organization","@id":"https://haberpaper.com/#organization","name":"Haber Paper","url":"https://haberpaper.com/"},"license":{"@type":"CreativeWork","@id":"https://haberpaper.com/en/data-terms/v1#license","name":"Haber Paper Original Data Compilation License 1.0","url":"https://haberpaper.com/en/data-terms/v1"},"rights_scope":"Haber Paper original data arrangement, labels and methodology notes only; underlying source rights and permissions remain separate.","source_license_url":null}],"data_downloads":[{"id":"first-group-bess-agreements","formats":{"json":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026/data/first-group-bess-agreements?lang=en&format=json","csv":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-principal-buyer-signs-first-four-bess-agreements-2026/data/first-group-bess-agreements?lang=en&format=csv"}}],"content":{"paragraphs":["Saudi Arabia’s Principal Buyer, the Saudi Power Procurement Company, signed four service agreements on August 20, 2026, for the first group of battery energy storage system projects. The Saudi Press Agency reported a combined power capacity of 2,000 MW, a four-hour storage duration for each project and total investment of more than SAR 4.35 billion. Those figures describe the plans covered by the agreements. The report does not say the projects have been completed, entered commercial operation or are already supplying that amount of power to the grid. It says the facilities will be developed under a build-own-operate model.","The four sites are Muwayh and Haden in Makkah region, Al-Kahfah in Hail region and Al-Khashibi in Qassim region. Each project is specified at 500 MW with a four-hour storage duration. The first three agreements went to a consortium of Saudi Energy, ACWA Power and Al Sharif; the fourth was signed with a consortium of ENGIE and Al Haj Abdullah Ali Reza & Partners. The announcement therefore describes four separate projects and developer groups. It does not publish a construction start, grid-connection date or commissioning schedule for any of the sites.","MW measures power capacity, while four hours is the storage duration stated in the announcement. Multiplying the project figures could produce a derived energy total, but SPA does not state that result as an aggregate, so this report does not present an unreported MWh total. The investment wording also matters: “more than SAR 4.35 billion” is a lower threshold, not an exact project cost. The SPA report gives no detail on how costs will be finalized at financial close. The figure should therefore not be described as a precise contract price or as spending already completed.","The four projects are identified as the first battery-storage group supervised by Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Energy. SPA says they form part of the energy sector’s effort to strengthen the reliability and efficiency of electricity generation. The report presents improved grid reliability and generation flexibility as intended benefits. Signing agreements alone, however, does not show that storage capacity has entered operation, that outages have fallen or that electricity prices have changed. Those outcomes would require later construction and operating data, which the announcement does not provide.","The report describes the Principal Buyer as responsible for preliminary studies and procurement of power-generation and storage projects, and for signing power-purchase or storage-service agreements with developers. The announced contracts set out a model for developing and operating the sites, but SPA does not disclose every technical and financial term in the agreements. This account is limited to the capacity, locations and consortia stated in the August 20 release. Without later disclosures, no conclusion can be drawn about construction progress, commissioning dates, actual storage performance or realized investment."],"key_points":[],"sections":[]},"text":"The first four projects are planned for 2,000 MW of power capacity and four-hour storage; investment was put above SAR 4.35 billion, with no report that the facilities are operating.\n\nSaudi Arabia’s Principal Buyer, the Saudi Power Procurement Company, signed four service agreements on August 20, 2026, for the first group of battery energy storage system projects. The Saudi Press Agency reported a combined power capacity of 2,000 MW, a four-hour storage duration for each project and total investment of more than SAR 4.35 billion. Those figures describe the plans covered by the agreements. The report does not say the projects have been completed, entered commercial operation or are already supplying that amount of power to the grid. It says the facilities will be developed under a build-own-operate model.\n\nThe four sites are Muwayh and Haden in Makkah region, Al-Kahfah in Hail region and Al-Khashibi in Qassim region. Each project is specified at 500 MW with a four-hour storage duration. The first three agreements went to a consortium of Saudi Energy, ACWA Power and Al Sharif; the fourth was signed with a consortium of ENGIE and Al Haj Abdullah Ali Reza & Partners. The announcement therefore describes four separate projects and developer groups. It does not publish a construction start, grid-connection date or commissioning schedule for any of the sites.\n\nMW measures power capacity, while four hours is the storage duration stated in the announcement. Multiplying the project figures could produce a derived energy total, but SPA does not state that result as an aggregate, so this report does not present an unreported MWh total. The investment wording also matters: “more than SAR 4.35 billion” is a lower threshold, not an exact project cost. The SPA report gives no detail on how costs will be finalized at financial close. The figure should therefore not be described as a precise contract price or as spending already completed.\n\nThe four projects are identified as the first battery-storage group supervised by Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Energy. SPA says they form part of the energy sector’s effort to strengthen the reliability and efficiency of electricity generation. The report presents improved grid reliability and generation flexibility as intended benefits. Signing agreements alone, however, does not show that storage capacity has entered operation, that outages have fallen or that electricity prices have changed. Those outcomes would require later construction and operating data, which the announcement does not provide.\n\nThe report describes the Principal Buyer as responsible for preliminary studies and procurement of power-generation and storage projects, and for signing power-purchase or storage-service agreements with developers. The announced contracts set out a model for developing and operating the sites, but SPA does not disclose every technical and financial term in the agreements. This account is limited to the capacity, locations and consortia stated in the August 20 release. Without later disclosures, no conclusion can be drawn about construction progress, commissioning dates, actual storage performance or realized investment.","corrections":[],"editorial_illustration":{"kind":"symbolic-editorial-illustration","documentary":false,"scope":"section","asset_id":"energy","url":"https://haberpaper.com/assets/illustrations/energy-1536.webp","width":1536,"height":1024,"alt":"Symbolic energy landscape with solar panels, wind turbines and transmission lines.","language":"en"},"section_illustration":{"kind":"symbolic-editorial-illustration","documentary":false,"scope":"section","asset_id":"energy","url":"https://haberpaper.com/assets/illustrations/energy-1536.webp","width":1536,"height":1024,"alt":"Symbolic energy landscape with solar panels, wind turbines and transmission lines.","language":"en"}}}
