{"version":"1","article":{"id":"gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","slug":"gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","language":"en","url":"https://haberpaper.com/en/news/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026?lang=en","title":"Gotion says it will supply systems for 75% of Saudi BESS tender","summary":"The company says it will supply 1.5 GW/6 GWh of battery systems across three sites, equal to 75% of the first programme’s 2 GW/8 GWh storage volume.","category":"energy","region":"world","topics":[],"published_at":"2026-10-04T22:46:51+03:00","modified_at":"2026-10-04T22:51:18+03:00","publication_basis":"publication-record","event_period":"2026-09-28","event_period_basis":"event-or-reference-period","sources":[{"name":"Gotion (company release distributed by PR Newswire)","url":"https://www.prnewswire.co.uk/news-releases/gotion-secures-75-of-saudi-arabias-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-302891502.html","checkedAt":"2026-10-04","publishedAt":"2026-09-28"}],"translations":[{"language":"tr","url":"https://haberpaper.com/tr/news/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026?lang=tr"},{"language":"en","url":"https://haberpaper.com/en/news/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026?lang=en"},{"language":"ar","url":"https://haberpaper.com/ar/news/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026","api_url":"https://haberpaper.com/api/v1/articles/gotion-saudi-first-utility-scale-bess-tender-2026?lang=ar"}],"data_types":[],"data":null,"data_compilations":[],"data_downloads":[],"content":{"paragraphs":["Chinese battery maker Gotion High-Tech said in a company release dated 28 September 2026 that it would supply a total of 6 GWh of battery systems for three sites in Saudi Arabia’s first utility-scale storage programme. The company identified Al Muwayah, Haden and Al Kahafa, each rated at 500 MW of power and 2 GWh of storage. Together, the sites represent 1.5 GW/6 GWh. The first group procured by Saudi Power Procurement Company (SPPC) totals 2 GW/8 GWh, and Gotion describes its supply scope as about 75% of that group’s storage volume. The share refers to energy-storage capacity, not 75% of the tender’s value or ownership of the projects.","Gotion calls the agreement the first large international deployment of its Gotion Grid utility-scale storage system. The company says the system can operate between minus 30 and 55 degrees Celsius, that its desert-oriented thermal management maintains full output during sandstorms, and that it reduces high-temperature degradation by 40% compared with conventional systems. These are manufacturer claims. The release provides no test protocol, independent verification or measured operating data from the sites. Gotion also gives the system a 25-year design life, which it compares with what it describes as an industry average of 15–20 years. A design-life estimate is not the same as a warranty or a promise that a given level of capacity will be retained throughout operation.","The system is also described as using an artificial-intelligence-supported battery management system. Gotion says the software will support dispatch, proactive safety alerts and diagnostics over the system lifecycle. Its release says all three sites can be operated remotely and integrated with Saudi Arabia’s 380-kilovolt transmission backbone. It does not explain which operator will use these functions, how remote operation fits into emergency procedures, or when grid connections are scheduled. These design statements therefore describe the proposed equipment and controls; they do not establish that the facilities have been completed or are already supplying the grid.","Gotion says its regional system-level storage portfolio is about 9 GWh, including a 1.5 GWh project in Egypt and a 1.2 GWh project in Morocco with ACWA Power. Separately, it describes a planned 3 GWh manufacturing base in Egypt; manufacturing capacity is a different measure from the storage capacity of installed batteries. It puts its global cumulative system projects above 10 GWh and says a 281 MW/843 MWh solar-plus-storage project under construction in Australia is expected to enter commercial operation in the first half of 2027. These portfolio figures and the forward timetable are company statements. Gotion did not disclose a construction start or completion date for the Saudi sites, the value of its equipment-supply contracts, or annual battery-cycle performance. The announcement is therefore about a supplier allocation, not installed capacity or measured energy savings."],"key_points":[],"sections":[]},"text":"The company says it will supply 1.5 GW/6 GWh of battery systems across three sites, equal to 75% of the first programme’s 2 GW/8 GWh storage volume.\n\nChinese battery maker Gotion High-Tech said in a company release dated 28 September 2026 that it would supply a total of 6 GWh of battery systems for three sites in Saudi Arabia’s first utility-scale storage programme. The company identified Al Muwayah, Haden and Al Kahafa, each rated at 500 MW of power and 2 GWh of storage. Together, the sites represent 1.5 GW/6 GWh. The first group procured by Saudi Power Procurement Company (SPPC) totals 2 GW/8 GWh, and Gotion describes its supply scope as about 75% of that group’s storage volume. The share refers to energy-storage capacity, not 75% of the tender’s value or ownership of the projects.\n\nGotion calls the agreement the first large international deployment of its Gotion Grid utility-scale storage system. The company says the system can operate between minus 30 and 55 degrees Celsius, that its desert-oriented thermal management maintains full output during sandstorms, and that it reduces high-temperature degradation by 40% compared with conventional systems. These are manufacturer claims. The release provides no test protocol, independent verification or measured operating data from the sites. Gotion also gives the system a 25-year design life, which it compares with what it describes as an industry average of 15–20 years. A design-life estimate is not the same as a warranty or a promise that a given level of capacity will be retained throughout operation.\n\nThe system is also described as using an artificial-intelligence-supported battery management system. Gotion says the software will support dispatch, proactive safety alerts and diagnostics over the system lifecycle. Its release says all three sites can be operated remotely and integrated with Saudi Arabia’s 380-kilovolt transmission backbone. It does not explain which operator will use these functions, how remote operation fits into emergency procedures, or when grid connections are scheduled. These design statements therefore describe the proposed equipment and controls; they do not establish that the facilities have been completed or are already supplying the grid.\n\nGotion says its regional system-level storage portfolio is about 9 GWh, including a 1.5 GWh project in Egypt and a 1.2 GWh project in Morocco with ACWA Power. Separately, it describes a planned 3 GWh manufacturing base in Egypt; manufacturing capacity is a different measure from the storage capacity of installed batteries. It puts its global cumulative system projects above 10 GWh and says a 281 MW/843 MWh solar-plus-storage project under construction in Australia is expected to enter commercial operation in the first half of 2027. These portfolio figures and the forward timetable are company statements. Gotion did not disclose a construction start or completion date for the Saudi sites, the value of its equipment-supply contracts, or annual battery-cycle performance. The announcement is therefore about a supplier allocation, not installed capacity or measured energy savings.\n\nRemoved the 15-year contract term and associated background paragraph because the term was not verified for all four first-group projects. Technical figures from the Gotion announcement are retained.","corrections":[{"at":"2026-10-04T22:51:18+03:00","language":"en","text":"Removed the 15-year contract term and associated background paragraph because the term was not verified for all four first-group projects. Technical figures from the Gotion announcement are retained."}],"editorial_illustration":{"kind":"symbolic-editorial-illustration","documentary":false,"scope":"section","asset_id":"energy","url":"https://haberpaper.com/assets/illustrations/energy-1536.webp","width":1536,"height":1024,"alt":"Symbolic energy landscape with solar panels, wind turbines and transmission lines.","language":"en"},"section_illustration":{"kind":"symbolic-editorial-illustration","documentary":false,"scope":"section","asset_id":"energy","url":"https://haberpaper.com/assets/illustrations/energy-1536.webp","width":1536,"height":1024,"alt":"Symbolic energy landscape with solar panels, wind turbines and transmission lines.","language":"en"}}}
